, pub-8431740912952467, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

Sylvia Tyson (country, folk)

Sylvia Tyson, (born Sylvia Fricker, 19 September 1940 in Chatham, Ontario) is a musician, performer, singer-songwriter and broadcaster. She is best known as part of the folk duo Ian and Sylvia, with Ian Tyson. Since 1993, she has been a member of the all-female folk group Quartette.  From 1959 to 1974, she was half of the popular folk duo Ian & Sylvia with Ian Tyson. The two met after a friend of Tyson heard her sing at a party and let Ian know about her; Tyson had been performing in Toronto clubs as a solo artist, but after he and Fricker met, they decided to work together as a duo. After the Tysons separated and stopped performing together in 1975, Sylvia started a solo career. She was nominated seven times for a Juno Award, the first being in 1987 as Country Female Vocalist of the Year, and was made a member of the Order of Canada in 1994.

Woman's World - 1975

Cool Wind From The North - 1976

Satin On Stone - 1978

Sugar For Sugar, Salt For Salt - 1979

Big Spotlight - 1986

You Were On My Mind - 1989

Gypsy Cadillac - 1992

River Road & Other Stories - 2000

The Very Best Of... - 2001

Joyner's Dream - 2011

Help support Rock My World Canada! with a one-time donation -

Privacy Policy

Terms & Conditions

Cookie Policy

Follow Rock My World Canada!


Facebook Group



Become A Patron

©2021 Rock My World Canada!